E-Comm Annual General Meeting

New technology and expanded services detailed at E-Comm Annual General Meeting

Board Chair Doug Campbell speaks at E-Comm AGM

Board Chair Doug Campbell speaks at E-Comm AGM

From new executive leadership to breaking ground on a new consolidated 9-1-1/police dispatch centre on Vancouver Island to implementing a new state-of-the-art radio system, 2017 was a year of transitions for E-Comm.

In a presentation to shareholders at the company’s Annual General Meeting on June 21, Board Chair Doug Campbell said 2017 realized substantial accomplishments for E-Comm.

He highlighted a key activity in 2017—the planned replacement of E-Comm’s Wide-Area Radio Network, first implemented in 1999. The project is a culmination of five years of collaboration with police, fire and ambulance agencies in Metro Vancouver and Abbotsford. “I am impressed with the diligence of planning, attention to detail and quality of execution, as well as the collaboration with our partner agencies involved in advancing this critical public safety infrastructure initiative in the Lower Mainland,” said Campbell.

“We’ve realized major goals and milestones, but we’re also focused on our future, by starting work on a new strategic plan that will guide us on the road ahead.”

Doug Campbell,
E-Comm Board Chair

He noted 2017 was also a year of service expansion for E-Comm including:

  • Becoming the first point of contact for 9-1-1 callers in the Peace River Regional District
  • Welcoming two new dispatch partners: Abbotsford Police Department and Coquitlam Fire/Rescue
  • Signing agreements with police agencies on southern Vancouver Island and the Capital Regional District for the formation of a new consolidated 9-1-1/police dispatch centre
Board Chair Doug Campbell speaks at E-Comm AGM
At the June 21 Annual General Meeting, Board Chair Doug Campbell thanks the E-Comm Board for its commitment and expertise.

“The Board of Directors continues to be gratified by the hard work and dedication of the entire E-Comm team and our public safety partners,” Campbell added.

“We’ve realized major goals and milestones, but we’re also focused on our future, by starting work on a new strategic plan that will guide us on the road ahead,” he shared. “We on the Board, along with our staff, intend to keep the momentum going as we focus on our vision of creating safer communities throughout British Columbia.”

Read more about E-Comm’s 2017 achievements, performance and financial results in the 2017 Annual Report.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

E-Comm’s Board includes elected officials, representatives of emergency services and the provincial government, in addition to municipal staff and local community and business leaders.

Doug Campbell
Independent Director, Board Chair

Councillor Bruce Bell
Cities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows

Becky Denlinger
Province of British Columbia

Barry Forbes
Independent Director

Mayor Jack Froese
Township of Langley, Cities of Langley, Surrey and White Rock

Lois Karr

Anne Kinvig
Independent Director

Warren Lemcke
Vancouver Police Board

Neil Lilley
BC Emergency Health Services

Councillor Raymond Louie
Metro Vancouver

Jack McGee
Independent Police Boards (Abbotsford, New Westminster, Port Moody, Transit Police, West Vancouver)

Councillor Bill McNulty
City of Richmond

Paul Mochrie
City of Vancouver

Denise Nawata
Independent Director

Karl Preuss
Corporation of Delta / Delta Police Board

Mark Sieben
Province of British Columbia

Mayor Richard Walton
District of North Vancouver, City of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, Village of Lions Bay

Terry Waterhouse
Cities of Surrey, Langley and White Rock, Township of Langley

The director seat representing the Village of Belcarra and the Cities of Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody will be announced at a later date.