CEO Update


We were delighted to welcome E-Comm’s shareholders and partners to our Annual General Meeting (AGM) in June to report back on our 2014 strategic, operational and financial highlights. It was also an opportunity to reflect on the many public safety achievements realized through the support of our partners since our start-up 15 years earlier. From service expansion to technological improvements and a name change, 2014 was another year of transformation and growth for E-Comm.

We witnessed many emergency communication initiatives continue to advance, including major milestones related to the Next Generation Radio Program and expansion of 9-1-1 call-answer partnerships. Our 2014 Annual Report to the Community provides a complete overview of the year along with our service and financial results.

2014 also marked our third year of operation under our long-term strategic plan, Vision2020. Our Board of Directors has played a critical role over the past several years in advancing public safety initiatives within our plan and shaping our vision of safer communities in B.C. through excellence in public-safety communication. On that note, our sincere thanks to the directors who recently retired from our board and a warm welcome to the new directors appointed by our shareholders at our recent AGM: Mayors Jack Froese and Richard Walton, councillors Raymond Louie and Mary Trentadue, and directors Anne Kinvig, Jack McGee and Kathy Steegstra.

E-Comm’s services and scope have grown considerably over the years. We are confident that with the leadership of our Board of Directors we will continue in our mission to deliver exceptional emergency communication services that help save lives and protect property.

There are many exciting 2015 public safety initiatives underway in addition to longer-term projects like the replacement of the regional radio system (Next Generation Radio Program) and the evolution of 9-1-1 infrastructure. We will continue to provide updates in future issues of e-communiqué.

E-Comm 2015-2016 Board of Directors

Jocelyn Kelley
Independent Director, Board Chair

Penny Ballem
City of Vancouver

Gary Bass

Doug Campbell
Independent Director

Barry Forbes
Independent Director

Mayor Jack Froese
Township of Langley, Cities of Surrey and White Rock

Fire Chief Len Garis
Township of Langley, Cities of Surrey and White Rock

Anne Kinvig
Independent Director

Councillor Raymond Louie
Metro Vancouver

Jack McGee
Independent Police Boards (Port Moody, West Vancouver, Transit Police, Abbotsford, New Westminster)

Councillor Bill McNulty
City of Richmond

Clayton Pecknold
Ministry of Justice

Karl Preuss
Corporation of Delta / Delta Police Board

Patrick Quealey
Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

Bob Rolls
Vancouver Police Board

Kathy Steegstra
BC Emergency Health Services

Councillor Mary Trentadue
New Westminster, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Belcarra

Mayor Richard Walton
District of North Vancouver, City of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, Village of Lions Bay

Our sincere thanks to our retiring Board Directors:

Mayor Mike Clay, Port Moody

Ernie Daykin, Maple Ridge

Councillor Diana Dilworth, Port Moody

Councillor Bill Lawrence, White Rock

Linda Lupini, BC Emergency Health Services

Mayor Darrell Mussatto, City of North Vancouver

Sheldon Stoilen, Independent Director